Louisiana Music Archive and Artist Directory
Satchmo.com's guide to New Orleans music and Louisiana music
'Crescent City music and its artists shine brightly here at this spectacularly spicy spot'

Aaron Neville: Ultimate Collection Spans Nearly 40 Years Of Hits

From "Everybody Plays The Fool" and "Tell It Like It Is"
to the Linda Ronstadt duets "Don't Know Much" and "All My Life"

Purchase Aaron Neville: Ultimate Collection

Aaron Neville's soulful, strong and purely emotional voice is one of the few voices of today that can warrant comparisons to Sam Cooke. Like Cooke, Neville can wrap his voice around any style with ease, making any song - be it an original or an interpretation of a classic - his own. The New Orleans musical giant is, in short, a singer's singer.

Now the largest and most comprehensive single-disc overview of his career, Aaron Neville: Ultimate Collection (Hip-O Records), released August 21, 2001, gathers 20 selections from 1960 to 1997, the best of his work on A&M, Mercury, Minit, Capitol, Passport, Elektra and Par-Lo.

Spanning his career from his Top 25 R&B hit "Over You" in 1960 to the biographical "To Make Me Who I Am" from his 1997 album of the same title, "Aaron Neville: Ultimate Collection" includes the original 1966 version of his #2 pop/#1 R&B classic "Tell It Like It Is," his Top 10 1991 masterpiece "Everybody Plays The Fool" in its 7" Listen Baby Mix, and two hit duets with Linda Ronstadt - the #2 pop smash "Don't Know Much" (1989) and #11 pop "All My Life" (1990), which won consecutive Grammy Awards for Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal.

Produced by noted New Orleans music historian Jeff Hannusch, "Aaron Neville: Ultimate Collection" also features other songs from the most commercially successful period of his solo career, his '90s stint on A&M, including the title track from 1991's platinum "Warm Your Heart" and Chuck Berry's "You Never Can Tell" from 1993's platinum "The Grand Tour".

Among the other selections are a trio of tracks with his famed sibling group, The Neville Brothers: their New Orleans rendition of the doo-wop classic "Ten Commandments of Love" (1981), their remarkable version of Sam Cooke's "A Change Is Gonna Come" from their gold-certified 1989 "Yellow Moon" album, and "Arianne" (1978).

In addition, the album encompasses such rare gems as the autobiographical "Jail House"; "Why Worry" (b-side of the "Tell It Like It Is" single); the '60s Minit recordings of "Waiting At The Station," "Sweet Little Mama" and "Show Me The Way"; the early '70s Mercury singles "Mojo Hannah" and "Hercules," and the Joel Dorn productions "For Your Precious Love" and "Pledging My Love" from his 1986 EP "Orchid In The Storm".

No other singer has taken New Orleans R&B onto the contemporary R&B stage as he has - and "Aaron Neville: Ultimate Collection" traces that musical journey.

Aaron Neville is the latest compilation album in the Hip-O Ultimate Collection series which celebrates noteworthy artists.

"Aaron Neville: Ultimate Collection" Track Listing:

  1. To Make Me Who I Am
  2. Donít Know Much (Linda Ronstadt and Aaron Neville)
  3. For Your Precious Love
  4. Everybody Plays the Fool [7Ē Listen Baby Mix]
  5. A Change is Gonna Come (The Neville Brothers)
  6. Arianne (The Neville Brothers)
  7. Warm Your Heart
  8. Hercules
  9. Why Worry
  10. Sweet Little Mama
  11. Over You
  12. Iím Waitiní At the Station
  13. Jailhouse
  14. Mojo Hannah
  15. Show Me the Way
  16. Ten Commandments of Love
  17. You Never Can Tell
  18. All My Life (Linda Ronstadt and Aaron Neville)
  19. Pledging My Love
  20. Tell It Like It Is

For more info on Aaron Neville, see: